Shipscook’s Italian Job – Arrival

The cab arrived at 2am to take us to Gatwick. I think it would be fair to say that Gatwick Airport is my least favourite place on Earth (with Newark and Luton following close behind). Security was remarkably free of incident, but I still managed to have an argument with the idiot waiter in Garfunkels, who was unable to grasp that the correct answer to “I ordered a cheese omelette not scrambled eggs” was not to claim that it was what I had ordered, but to apologise and bring me the damned omelette, which was eventually brought with very bad grace.

Mercifully I found myself drifting in and out of consciousness throughout the flight, before arriving at Naples Airport. I have to admit that I had been dreading our arrival here as the last time we passed through it have been a complete cake and arse party of queues with three flights worth of baggage on one carousel and none on any of the others, this time was fine with just a perfunctory passport check and a relatively easy baggage pick up.

Still knackered after our early morning start I once again drifted in and out of consciousness as we drove along the Amalfi Coast to Sorrento, the blue Mediterranean, sparkling against the mountains it really is a beautiful part of the world. We arrived at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte just in time for lunch, which we enjoyed on the terrace overlooking the incredibly pretty Bay of Naples.

The Bay of Naples from the Bouganvillea Restaurant

2 thoughts on “Shipscook’s Italian Job – Arrival

Leave a Reply

